30 Days of Hymns, the Sacred Triad, the Morrigan #4: sexual sovereignty

A bare pale-fleshed human back rests in a white room; a branch with orange flowers rests along the person's spine.

to you, Morrigan
I begin the process
of decolonizing my body
I have grown like a tree
around rock
around my trauma
folding it into myself
it has curved me
stunted me
and it is time
to eject it

I will grow deep roots
around these rocks
and with all the force
of the earth
I will expel them
and I will sing your praises
upon the bloodied earth

for you, Morrigan
I begin the process
of re-loving myself again
of re-discovering the country
I left behind
when first it was invaded
a refugee
from my own flesh

My body is mine
and I abdicated too soon
how can I enter into
consensual trade agreements
if I have not reclaimed
my throne?

I am a Queen, like you, Beloved
I decide who enters this land
and who gets to stay

and reclaiming my throne, I offer you
sweet wine
the color of blood
fresh meats
a feast for a sovereign

and I sing your praises
upon my sacred land

for you, Morrigan
I deny all the wannabe
Kings and Queens that came before
those parasites that took up residence
in my head and in my heart
paying no rent
and wrecking the place

they have been served their eviction notices
they have lost their deposits
never again will their hands
touch this flesh
never again will their words
sway this heart
and I have boarded up the entrances
to my soul
only those I choose may enter
only those worthy, sovereigns in their own right

and having denied the liars and charlatans from my past
having secured my future for a true sovereign
I sing your praises
within the hallowed hall that is my soul
and I paint your countenance upon the walls

This place is protected
by my devotion to you
giving me the strength
to protect myself
drawing upon my own power
drawing from the earth
that is your home

for you, Morrigan
I have reclaimed my body
mind
soul
in the name of pleasure
in the name of love
in the name of sacred consent

all acts of pleasure
are thy rituals
when they reaffirm
my sovereignty
my power

and having reclaimed myself
I sing your praises
in the forest
on the hills
in every corner
of my truly sovereign life.


30 Days of Hymns: The Sacred Triad

Author: Morag

Morag Spinner is a writer, a witch, and an activist (sometimes all three) living in British Colmbia, Canada. Zie's fat and genderqueer, and zie crafts all manner of things, from spell jars to duct tape bags to shawls to blankets to random bits of kitsch. Zie's obsessed with chocolate and listens to far too much Evanescence.

Leave a Reply

